Sweet lavender

Bring the sights and scents of a summer garden into your home with my lavender wreath design. You will find this in the latest edition of Cross stitch Collection, issue 238
Sweet Lavender Wreath 001

The design is easy to stitch but be careful with the range of colours as some are quite close in tone. Although the chart shows French knots as part of the design I think I would change these for beads in a very pale mauve or even pearl.

There is also details for making a small sachet which will be ideal for those dried lavender flowers to scent a drawer or hang in a wardrobe.

David and I have been redesigning our garden over the past year and lavender is an essential plant for us. We have just been up to the north Norfolk coast for a week’s holiday and whilst there visited the Norfolk Lavender plants. It is a lovely place to see all of the varieties of lavenders and all can be bought on site………just an added note, they also have a wonderful restaurant and shop.

This should have ben posted yesterday……….obviously not up to working mode yet!!

Happy stitching, Lesley x

5 comments on “Sweet lavender

  1. jcjulieann says:

    I love lavender, I have this issue and the pattern is so nice. 🙂

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I love Lavender too, I just can smell these beautifull Little flowers! And it is summer for me when Rose´s and Lavender are in bloom. I even love this magnific Japanese Crane in Cross Stitch Gold issue 112 – it is on my to do list allready, both designs! Thank You Lesley for wonderfull design and fantastic colours too…
    Have a Lovely Summer Holiday!

  3. sarah tunnicliffe says:

    Hi I have just seen an old pattern online that is published as your design and would love to get hold of the chart if possible! ? Its listed as River Rambler and was in issue 212 of Crossstitch Collection.Would you be able to help? Its a picture of a Heron with flower detail. Your works are beautiful.

    • Hi Sarah, thanks for the lovely comment. The heron was one in a series of four bird designs. This one; the chaffinch, wren and robin, will all be available on line from my Chart Shop on my new website once it is complete. At present I hadn’t realised how much work would be involved in this process. I am still optimistic that it should be up and running by the beginning of August! Lx

Leave a Reply

